President’s Message

John Yelkich, 2021 President, Hobart Chamber of Commerce

Greetings!

Being an insurance agent, I have been trained to look for the risk in many different circumstances. For instance, where most people see sunshine, I see the number one leading cause of skin cancer. However, not even someone as pessimistic as me could have foreseen the events that occurred over the course of the last 12 months.

From COVID-19 to the civil unrest our nation has seen and everything in between, it has been an extraordinary year. And, as a result of this extraordinary year, there have come new challenges to the businesses in the Hobart community. My pledge as incoming President of the Hobart Chamber is to assist our local businesses in meeting these challenges head-on and provide opportunities to learn how to thrive in this new reality we face.

As a business owner, I understand how difficult it is to run a business successfully. It takes long hours, many sacrifices and a lot of sleepless nights to reach a point where we can unlock the doors in the morning and not have an overwhelming feeling of dread. My goal for the Hobart Chamber in 2021 is to help alleviate those feelings of dread and uncertainty and become a resource that makes doing business easier.

I am also going to use this opportunity to issue a statement to my fellow board members and Chamber membership as a whole; you need to become more involved in what it is we do. From events to publications, we need participation to survive. Your participation is vital in that you are our largest, single resource. When that resource is motivated, we can accomplish great things.

I am excited about the coming year and look forward to maximizing the resources the Hobart Chamber of Commerce has to offer.

John Yelkich
2021 President, Hobart Chamber of Commerce

Board of Directors

President John YelkichState Farm Insurance
john@john4insurance.com
219-940-3014
President-ElectJason BeresDataMine Internet Marketing Solutions
jberes@datamine.net
219-939-9987
1st Vice-PresidentCandace ArvinGeneral Insurance Services
candace@genins.com
219-850-1102
TreasurerJenny GunningPeoples Bank
jgunning@ibankpeoples.com
219-945-1305
Secretary Dee Bedella St. Mary Medical Center
dbedella@comhs.org
219-947-6607
219-947-6037 fax
Ex-Officio Marsha PlesacCentier Bank
mplesac@centier.com
219-945-1870
Executive Director Thomas Byelick Hobart Chamber of Commerce
executivedirector@hobartchamber.com
219-942-5774

Administrative Assistant VACANTHobart Chamber of Commerce
Term 2021 Greg GomolkaComcast
greg_gomolka@comcast.net
224-229-6844
Kevin Kosek REGIONAL federal credit union
kkosek@regionalfcu.com
219-548-6805
Sherry Sink Superior Ambulance
ssink@superiorambulance.com
219-554-4830
Term 2022 Pamela Broadaway Trailblazers Bike Barn
pbroadaway8748@gmail.com
219-940-3477
Chrissy Janusaitis Hobart Kiwanis
cjanusaitis@centier.com
219-755-6199
Harry Langbehn First Financial Bank
harry.langbehn@bankatfirst.com
219-864-4205
Term 2023 Jorge Gutierrez Allstate Insurance Agency
jorgegutierrez@allstate.com
219-225-0300
Mario Valtierra SMI/RMSR
mr.valtierra@gmail.com
219-669-7669
VACANT
Voice But No Vote Brian Snedecor City of Hobart
mayorsnedecor@cityofhobart.org
219-942-6112
219-947-4605 fax
Beth Jacobson City of Hobart, Economic Development
bjacobson@cityofhobart.org
219-942-5514
Peggy Buffington School City of Hobart
peggyb@hobart.k12.in.us
219-942-8885